Customer Reviews for Dismiss Turf Herbicide

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   114
4 stars   17
3 stars   4
2 stars   8
1 star   5

Average Customer Rating

4.5 of 5 stars
(148 customer reviews)
Dismiss Turf Herbicide
$89.07

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Displaying 91 to 120 (of 148 reviews)
Sort:
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Dismiss Turf Herbicide Review

    By Paul on 09/23/2018

    Made a spot application on my lawn in early August with a 1 gallon sprayer, Dismiss quickly killed much of the nutsedge. Made a second spot application in late August to finish off most of the remaining nutsedge. Recently made another quick spot application using a 1 quart sprayer to get a very few more nutsedge that appeared. Dismiss seems to kill the nutsedge with no impact to our lawn fescue, and it's necessary to keep after it with small spot applications. I'll continue applying it next year to keep nutsedge from getting out of control.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Perfect

    By Nicholas on 09/28/2018

    Verified Purchase

    Worked great, make sure to not over sprayed this product though. In two sedges were wilting up. Great product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    carpet grass

    By Ray on 10/05/2018

    looks as if Dismiss killed my infestation of carpet grass

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    yellow nutsedge

    By Lee on 10/12/2018

    Works great on yellow nutsedge, that's what I bought it for.Cheaper than Permit, ( Halosulfurno) and works faster, used on Tifway 419 Bermuda grass.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Wild onions

    By Gene on 04/05/2019

    Applied this on wild onions in my zoysia dormant yard as recommended and they curled a little, but did not die. Somewhat disappointed as to no success. Feel like I wasted my money.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Dramatic results

    By Howard on 05/27/2019

    Verified Purchase

    For years I had been using IMAGE to kill nutsedge. Never successful; just barely controlled its spread. Switched to DISMISS last year after reading reviews on DoMyOwn. Amazing results! Bermuda tolerates quite well and now I have to hunt just to find single residual stalk of nutsedge. Highly recommend it for spot treatment.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great for Nutgrass/Nutsedge

    By Daryl on 06/14/2019

    I've had a Nutsedge problem for years. It grows at my mailbox, little areas of my lawn, and through my gravel path. Sedgehammer worked well on the baby Nutgrass, but it was not particularly effective on the mature Nutgrass. I mixed up 1 gallon of Dismiss and put it on baby and mature Nutgrass. The baby stuff was dead within 48-hrs, while the mature stuff began to yellow day by day. By 7-10 days it was completely dead--and that was one application. Nothing has come close to working this well. I also put some in my Fescue lawn, and it did not hurt the Fescue at all. I highly recommend this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Perfect Transaction

    By Betsy on 06/14/2019

    Product was exactly as described and delivered promptly. I can't find one way my customer experience could have been improved. Recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Dismissed my nutsedge quickly and easily

    By Tom on 06/21/2019

    My yard was being overtaken by nutsedge in the past 3 years. After researching option, I chose dismiss based on reviews from the DoMyOwn site and happy I did. The surrounding grass turned brown but is bouncing back. this time without the nutsedge.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    it work

    By George on 06/28/2019

    I used Dismiss after many many other products on the Sedge grass that grows around my yard and it did a GREAT JOB. One application and it killed it all off. Thanks

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Good initial results on Nutsedge in Bermuda lawn

    By Casey on 07/02/2019

    Verified Purchase

    Research indicates that a nutsedge infestation can take a couple of years to fully eradicate. Dismiss started showing results in less than a week, so I am optimistic. I had to get another product to control the crabgrass in my lawn, but this was a great start.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Dismiss herbicide

    By Martin on 07/12/2019

    As also with Domyown, quick shipping. I have used Sedge Hammer in the past. It works but takes a long time to see results. Dismiss works faster and works on other weeds also. So far pleased with the purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Don’t Use if you love your Lawn.

    By Mark on 07/30/2019

    Verified Purchase

    Killed my Lawn . I’m at Pains to look at my lawn . I had Put so much work & money . I have no Words

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    0 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Dismiss is great product

    By Mike on 08/02/2019

    Awesome product. Worked very fast, results in 24 hours. Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Nothing better than watching nutsedge die off

    By Joe on 08/04/2019

    I was a little weary of using this product in the high heat of South Florida in mid July with a juvenile hybrid Bermuda that I had just seeded not more than 2 months earlier. The Bermuda didn’t seem to mind at all- perhaps it grew a little slower for a few weeks but no yellowing. The spurge died off where I sprayed (though I’ll need to do another treatment) and some other broadleaf weeds died off in the mix. All in all- for the value it’s a great product and will be a regular part of my post emergent treatment. Nutsedge is a strong weed and I have taken over a lawn that hadn’t been maintained properly for decades, some sedge patches were as densely matted as a paspalum putting green. One thing I do recommend is letting any post emergent spray sit as long as the label recommends prior to mowing— even longer. I went 9 days - as opposed to my daily mowing at .5625”

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Kills nutsedge and goosegrass fast

    By Greg on 08/07/2019

    This product works as advertised. This is the only product you need for nutsedge and goosegrass which can't be killed by anything else in St Augustine grass. Just be careful! This will kill your lawn if your mix is too strong. Less is more for this powerful weed killer. I tried mixing various amounts to a 1 gallon sprayer. Even at 1/8 teaspoon per gallon of water it is still strong and effective at killing both nutsedge and goosegrass. Use with surfactant and spray a quick single mist over the target weed. It will kill or severely damage the weed within two days. Repeat about week later if necessary. Best for spot treatment. Avoid needlessly spraying entire lawn as this stuff is strong and may still show some damage to non-targeted lawn grass.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Destroyer of Sedges

    By David on 08/09/2019

    Great product. Saw results in 48 hours. Add in some 2,4-D for a kicker.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Goodbye nutsedge

    By Charlie on 08/09/2019

    I have tried other products to try and control my nutsedge, which has ruined my yard over the years, but this is the first product that actually works and fast. Granted, it will take several applications but that is mainly because it is hard to see every bit of it when applying but I finally have hope that my problem will finally be solved. Great price and service from DoMyOwn too!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Dismiss

    By Keith on 08/23/2019

    This product works great. Wait at least 24 hours to water. In a few days Nutsedge will be gone.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Not working!

    By Mike on 09/10/2019

    I've been battling both purple and yellow nutsedge for years. I've tried multiple products, including sedgehammer, ortho and dismiss, all with limited results, and most of the success on yellow nutsedge. I rarely see the yellow any longer, but still annually battle the purple. I think my purple nut sedge must be some kind of mutant weed. The prescribed ratios weren't effective after 8 days, with very limited damage on the weeds, and some burning of turf, which I know is expected. this is my third season using dismiss. I know if i up the ratio or add a surfactant, I'll just burn the lawn, but that's almost what it feels like i need to do. Easily the most frustrating weed on earth. I want to take a flamethrower to it. is it possible my weeds have built up a tolerance to treatment? I feel like they actually like this stuff given how green they are, while being surrounded by burned grass. Lawn is fescue and bluegrass in New England.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Didn't work on Carpet Weeds (?)

    By Paul on 09/14/2019

    Verified Purchase

    Dismiss was recommended specifically for the weeds I'm trying to control (carpet weed...not sure). I sent DIY a photo, and this is what was recommended. It didn't phase the stuff. I used it on what I think is spurge grass, and it killed it pretty well.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great Product, Quick Results

    By Richard on 09/27/2019

    My back lawn was damaged from the installation of a new septic system and full-siding installation on our house last year. The new grass seed failed (planted too late in the fall; and too late in the spring before excessive heat), so the lawn became fully of weeds -especially Green Kyllinga, Yellow Nutsedge, crabgrass, and a wide variety of other, non-grass greens. I compared reviews on Dismiss and a couple of other herbicides recommended by my lawn service; but chose Dismiss due to reports for killing both Kyllinga and Nutsedge. Boy, were those correct. Within 2 days, those specific weeds were well on the way to drying up, along with a few broadleaf weeds and most of the other small creepers. We left for a two-week vacation, so we expect the rest of the weeds to be gone on our return. Perfect timing to dethatch and reseed this fall. Great results.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Nutsedge

    By Edward on 09/27/2019

    Looks like it killed the nutsedge.Hopefully it won't grow back.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Dismiss Turf Herbicide destroyed creeping beggarweed

    By Edward on 11/08/2019

    I live is south Florida, and the Saint Augustine and Floratam grasses are very sensitive to weed killers. Creeping Beggarweed is becoming a very big problem. Weed and Feed doesn't touch it and a new offering from Bayer seems like it would work, but it just gums up my spreaders (both kinds, rotary and drop). Dismiss kills the beggarweed and (so far at least) has not had a significant bad impact on the Saint Augustine and Floratam grasses. I just used it ten days ago and a large percentage of the Beggarweed is already gone. The growing season here seems to get longer each year and usually by this time of the year, the grass is dormant. That is no longer the case, and so I decided to try the Dismiss. I'm glad I did.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Dimiss Turf Herbicide falls short

    By Vern on 03/20/2020

    2 weeks ago I applied Dismiss as directed in the instructions. To date the effects are mediocre at best.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Really works

    By Dewayne on 04/24/2020

    I grew up farming so we always controlled the weeds and fertilized the field grass type was mostly Bahia. Now I live in a subdivision with St Augustine Grass it is a very sensitive grass. Last year a weed popped up and we didn’t know what it was or what to do. I like taking care of my lawn so I know if it looks like crap I can only blame myself. While watching the Lawn Care Nut he discussed Killinga grass and dismiss. It worked as promised on dollar weed and several more.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Sedge grass

    By Keathus on 05/01/2020

    It worked well as directed and you don't need much for my yard a table spoon that's it and 30 hours later sedge grass gone.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works great

    By John on 05/08/2020

    this stuff works great. well worth the money. Don't buy that cheap stuff at big box stores.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Florida Pusley Fail

    By Phil on 05/15/2020

    Applied as directed and two weeks later with minimal results. Then reapplied after three weeks and similar results.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Dismiss Herbicide for Nutsedge varieties

    By Tim on 05/29/2020

    It WORKS!! Excellent phone support when we had questions too!! We are blown away, after fighting sedge for 3 years, finally found a product that does what it says!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

Displaying 91 to 120 (of 148 reviews)