Customer Reviews for Drive XLR8 Herbicide Crabgrass Killer

Rating Snapshot

Average Customer Rating

4.3 of 5 stars
(396 customer reviews)
Drive XLR8 Herbicide Crabgrass Killer
On Sale!
$59.98
Was: $78.95

Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Displaying 121 to 150 (of 396 reviews)
Sort:
  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Yellow foxtail

    By Roddy on 05/18/2017

    Drive XLR8 is the only herbicide I have used that actually killed the yellow foxtail in my yard. I am, so far, very pleased with its efficacy.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Torpedo!

    By Targeting on 07/18/2017

    Drive XLR8 has been effective in combating Torpedo grass and St. Augustine intrusion into my Zoysia lawn. It is the only thing, short of Round-Up, that I have found so far that has been effective against Torpedo without killing everything else. Torpedo grass is HIGHLY resistant to seemingly everything. But for me spot treating with Drive XLR8 hurts it with yellowing and dead stalks within a week and without too much damage to the Zoyzia. There is yellowing to the Zoysia and even death if too much is applied, but the Zoysia usually recovers within a couple of weeks. It's necessary to retreat every two weeks, two or three consecutive treatments, or the Torpedo will recover. But, after the second or third treatment visible Torpedo will be dead. It is probable that you will need to treat again next season as Torpedo has deep underground tubers that will likely send up more shoots until completely killed. Drive XLR8 KILLS ST. AUGUSTINE quickly and thoroughly! This is good if you have Zoysia turf with St. Augustine neighbors.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Drive XLR8 Herbicide Crabgrass Killer

    By Jeff on 07/20/2017

    The best crab/orchard grass killer I've ever used. Kills the crab grass and doesn't effect the lawn.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Crabgrass Killer Awesome

    By Kelly on 08/16/2017

    After reading the reviews and most had great results, so I tried it. I bought XLR8 and Methylated Seed Oil. I live in Utah middle of the state, My grass is Kentucky blue grass maybe a little mixture of other grasses because in small areas the grass turned a lighter green, looks to be recovering. I mix 12 Tablespoons to 4 gallons XLR8 and 8oz Methylated Seed Oil, Temperature was about 90deg. Did not water day before and then I sprayed and did not water for 24hrs after. Sprayed August 10th by August 16th all of the crabgrass is dead, as in BROWN. Before that crabgrass seemed to be growing out of control and very healthy. I did see one or two new starts but just pulled them out and for 4 days nothing. This stuff is amazing, I will be using this on my other properties.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Works but not as described

    By Tom on 08/21/2017

    I bought this due to all the reviews stating it killed their crab grass; however after 3 weeks, it did not work for me. It did kill all the other weeds and not my Bermuda grass. Instructions were carefully followed and used MSO also. I even followed up with a concentrated spot spray on the crab grass with no results. I will say i noticed the young crab grass yellowing but the mature crab grass is too resilient which is taking over my lawn. If anybody has other suggestions, please inform me!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Worked Great

    By Mbf1238 on 08/29/2017

    Read the other reviews online and it seemed this was the best option to defeat the crabgrass. I had tried several off the shelf crab grass killers to no avail. My yard was starting to get taken over. I followed the directions and I mixed with Southern Ag Surfactant. By the third day the yellowing was apparent. I am at day 6 now and I can tell it is dying. I just need to hit the spots I missed now.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    the best against crabgrass

    By Remi on 09/01/2017

    Very good product, i saw effects after 3 days. I'm using 10oz of xlr8 / 25 gallons

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Best crabgrass killer I've ever used

    By Greg on 10/06/2017

    I put this on my lawn before leaving for a business trip. When I returned 3 days later, my crabgrass is dead or dying. This is the first product I've used with such great results. Application was very easy using my tow behind tank sprayer and instructions were easy to follow. I highly recommend this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    excellent service and find

    By Yolanda on 11/03/2017

    Prices are great. Delivery to our office was fast. Wish I knew about this sooner. I highly recommend buying. Shipping was free with this purchase!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Mixed feelings

    By Eddie on 06/01/2018

    I used the product as stated by the directions on label and had little effectiveness on the weeds in my Bermuda yard. It does help to kill some of the weeds on the label which it states it can control but I did not have that high of positive results. I did a second application about 4 week after to try and strengthen the efficiency of the product with only minor improvements. I will continue to use the product seeing how I have already opened and started using it but I am hopeful that there maybe a chance for a positive outcome in the near future. Somethings just get better with time. Fingers crossed????????

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works Perfect

    By Brad on 07/06/2018

    Just add MSO and it works perfectly. Used in my new Zoysia grass. I used the product 8 weeks after the sod was laid. I pulled the crabgrass (including the roots) multiple times. It kept coming back. It took two passes with this product to get everything. The Zoysia was slightly stressed but not harmed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Drive xLr8 crabgrass killer

    By Glenn on 07/15/2018

    Works great / fast service and I will order again I highly recommend this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Very effective

    By John on 08/03/2018

    Used a tow behind tank sprayer, easy to mix and saw the effect two days later. Crabgrass turning yellow and wilting.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    using drive xlr8

    By Jimmy on 08/05/2018

    I have used other products. they did not work.this product starts working in about two days. just use as directed. it does a great job.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Drive XLR8 Herbicide

    By Robert on 08/17/2018

    Works great. Very effective crabgrass killer. I sprayed the crabgrass twice, three days apart and it was dead in a week

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Actually Works

    By Frank on 08/24/2018

    I have been using this on major sections of the lawn that are covered with crabgrass. I use it a day or two before forcasted rain, and it has been working perfectly. It kills the crabgrass and does not harm the turf grass. It takes 3-4 days to see results, and a few more days to completely kill the crabgrass. I have been using it with the DyneAmic surfacant. The combination has been very effective. I just have a 2 gallon tank sprayer (nothing fancy), and spray a section at a time.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Really effective

    By Steve on 08/31/2018

    Works like nothing else I've tried on Post emergent crab grass.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    DRIVE xlr8

    By Dave on 09/29/2018

    Mixed 64 oz. per 55 gallons of water plus 75 oz. of 2 ,4,D killed basically all crabgrass and most chickweed and broadleaves. I used 3 55 gallons sprayers for right at 2 1/2 acres. Very satisfy with the results. I noticed a yellowing of the crab grass about 24 to 30 hours later completely dead on the fourth day. Would have already plugged and sown grass seeds and fertilizer but it started raining.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Crabgrass Killer

    By Danny on 04/21/2019

    Would not recommend or buy this product again. Some of the leaves turned yellow, but the plants did not die. I still have patches of healthy looking crabgrass.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Buffalo Grass

    By Laura on 05/24/2019

    Verified Purchase

    I am using Drive with surfactant to kill off a massive invasion of bindweed in my new buffalo grass lawn. It works great and does not harm the grass at all. One thing you need to get used to, is it does not show results for at least 6-7 days. Just follow the directions, as far as mixing rates, and it will work. My only complaint is it doesn't kill more varieties of weeds. This spring I'm going to add Ferti-lome Weed Free Zone to my mix and see if this gets most of the other weeds. I'm using a pump sprayer and spot treating. One other thing, DoMyOwn customer service is 5-star and they ship fast. Really love these guys.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Goodbye crabgrass

    By Alan on 09/01/2019

    For years I've been trying to find a effective crabgrass killer and this is the product. Yard maintenance is something I take great pride in. I enjoy the finished product even more. If you have a crabgrass issue,get this product, follow the directions and see results within 48 hours. Total kill in 5-7 days. The large well established clumps may require spot treatment followup. To control weeds present you will need to add a weed control product available from this seller. I have ordered as late as 4 p and every order I have placed received same day shipping. I recommend Do My Own for products, price and service. Thanks.. Do My Own

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    Mixed results

    By Tom on 09/13/2019

    I had mixed results, initial browning in two days but the crabgrass is regaining its color. I followed mixing directions and used with oil as directed. Not sure where I went wrong. This may be my fault not the product but figure it could happen to others a well.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Don't buy this product!

    By Lucretia on 04/10/2020

    Should not give it any stars. I called the "pros" at this business, and this was recommended for killing the crabgrass in my zoysia lawn. I read the entire product brochure that came with the product and followed the mixing directions carefully. I sprayed with a hand held pump up sprayer being sure to agitate the sprayer frequently as directed. I waited two weeks. No signs of the crab grass weakening. I repeated the process spraying only the crab grass this time in order spare my lawn from too much stress. It has been 10 days since the second application. The crab grass is still looking hearty. Waste of my time and money! I called the company before the second spraying. I had some questions about other products for other issues and wanted to visit with a "pro" as they describe themselves. The phone person couldn't answer my questions, but promised to find out and call me back. I never heard from her, and it's been two weeks. Some "pro." Right!? I'm going to shop elsewhere.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Drive XLR8 Herbicide Crabgrass Killer

    By Gary on 06/05/2020

    I have always fought crabgrass until receiving Drive XLR8. All I can say is it works! I would buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Old reliable

    By Robert on 06/12/2020

    Stop using for a couple of years, don't know why but anyways weeds getting out of control. Went back to this and works AWESOME!!!! Never again will I not use this.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Crabgrass destroyer!

    By Mike on 07/03/2020

    If you are trying to kill crab grass or mostly any other grassy weeds this with mso is by far the beat product I have ever used to kill crabgrass. Nothing else compares for crabgrass

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Crabgrass gone..

    By George on 08/21/2020

    Great product and it kills crabgrass in two days... Better than what you get at Tractor Supply which only turns crabgrass brown...

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Very Effective

    By Steve on 09/04/2020

    Very selective and effective! Crabgrass had taken over but after treating it I'm left with the grass I want before I aerate and overseed. Tip: to Measure 3 oz for a 2 gallon spreader, I cut bottom 1/4 off from a 12oz can that worked well for me.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Excellent product

    By Cal on 09/05/2020

    We had a heavy stand of crabgrass this year since i didn't apply a pre-emergent in the spring. Sprayed XLR8 (with Duo Stick Select) on Sunday evening and by Thursday the crabgrass was totally brown. No damage to the bluegrass/fescue lawn.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    DRive XLR8 worked well

    By William on 09/10/2020

    I applied Drive XLR8 in late July to my Western PA lawn that was overrun with crabgrass. I had tried other products from Tractor Supply and had zero results. I applied as directed on the container and repeated application in 14 days. I used a 3-point sprayer and used 64 oz. of Drive XLR8 and 40 gallon of water to treat 45,000 sq. ft. After first application crabgrass yellowed but did not completely die. After second application it died completely. Great product that I will buy again next year!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Displaying 121 to 150 (of 396 reviews)