Customer Reviews for Blindside Herbicide WDG

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   43
4 stars   8
3 stars   2
2 stars   1
1 star   6

Average Customer Rating

4.4 of 5 stars
(60 customer reviews)
Blindside Herbicide WDG
$112.33

cargo-truck Free Shipping

Info / Buy Now

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 60 reviews)
Sort:
  • 2 of 5 Stars

    Floratam stopped growing

    By Steve on 01/09/2013

    Verified Purchase

    I applied Blindside December 22nd and it's now Jan 9th! Close to 3 weeks now. I have Floratam variety of St. Augustine grass. The label says its ok to use on St. Augustine but doesn't specify which varieties. Several varieties of weeds are dying but the dollar weed of which I'm the most concerned doesn't want to die. The grass has stopped growing but looks like its going to come back. I'm happy that the majority of weeds are going away but disappointed that the dollar weed won't die. I wish I would've bought Celsius or another herbicide. I emailed FMC and asked them if it was approved for Floratam. I got a generic answer that was a copy and pasted from the label saying on new varieties of grass it should be tested before used on the entire lawn! Floratam has been around since 1977 and was kind of upset at the generic answer! I hope this review helps other Floridians with warm season grass

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    92 of 108 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Best broadleaf control I have ever used on St. Augustine

    By James on 04/04/2015

    Verified Purchase

    I do my own lawn maintenance and have fought broadleaf weeds every year in my St. Augustine. I have tried everything you can buy at your local do-it-yourself centers. Nothing has ever come close to what Blindside accomplished in one application. You have to use a backpack type sprayer, no hose end sprayers, and it will devastate all broadleaf weeds, period. I put it out in March so temps were moderate in NE Florida and had zero damage or yellowing of the St. Augustine. Be sure and use the surfacant with it. The only regret I had was not using a color additive to see where I had sprayed. I had to go back a week later to hit a few spots missed. Buy it, you will not regret it and follow directions closely.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    67 of 67 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    An Updated Review

    By Steve on 03/27/2014

    Verified Purchase

    My first review was 2 stars and I am now giving it 4. I have continued to use Blindside for more than a year now, and although it slows the growth, and yellows my Floratam Saint Augustine it does a good job of controlling a wide variety of weeds (including dollar weed) and the saint Augustine does make a comeback. March is the best time to use it because the temps are low 80s. I have used it with temps in the 90s and it still worked well, it just took a little longer for the grass to make a comeback. And the neighbors are very jealous because my yard is the best in the neighborhood. (My Opinion)

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    45 of 45 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    worked for me

    By Tom on 07/04/2013

    Verified Purchase

    Best nut grass, sedge, doveweed product I have used. Double up with Dimension. It works for my Florida St. Augustine mix yard.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    30 of 32 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Didn't phase my dollar weeds

    By Jeff on 04/26/2015

    Verified Purchase

    Dollar weeds are on label but this stuff didn't seem to phase them one bit.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    You may need to try two applications of the Blindside for Dollarweed since it can be a tough weed to control for an entire season. (Just be sure that you don't exceed the annual rates on the product label: http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/msds/Blindside_Herbicide_04-19-11_Comm.pdf) Dollarweed also needs lots of water to thrive - probably less than your lawn, so adjusting your watering schedule may help to slow down the Dollarweed as well. We apologize that you are not happy from the results from the product. We are always happy to assist you by telephone, email, or live chat as well.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    30 of 32 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Worked Great!

    By Doug on 06/17/2017

    My step-mom bought a home with a terrible looking yard. It has large patches of St. Augustine grass but covered in weeds - mostly globe sedge and one part had tons of dollar weed. I applied Blindside and both of these weeds are nose-diving within 10 days. Very happy with the results of one application. I'll follow up with another application a little later as I used the lowest application rate and can do two per year. Also, we had a heavy thunderstorm about 20 hrs after application which probably reduced the effectiveness, but I'm still very happy with the results. At a cost of just over $2 per 1000 square feet, you can't beat it for residential lawns and it's enough to last for years.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    16 of 18 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Product works!

    By Eddie on 08/29/2017

    I have over an acre of beautiful Rivera Bermuda in Porter, TX. which is becoming infested with Dove grass/weed. This stuff is hard to kill and it spreads very quickly in the summer months. I have tried many broad leaf killers to fight the stuff and even though some work, it takes several applications to be successful. I purchased an 8 oz. bottle of Blindside (and it is quite expensive) and I was a little concerned with the small size of the bottle and how much it would cover. The directions said to mix .15 to .23 oz. for 4 gallons of water to spot apply with a back sprayer. They provide a measure to get the .15 or .23 oz. amount. Since I have had such an issue with the Dove Weed, I opted for the .23 amount and let me tell you IT WORKS!! And the 8 oz. bottle will go a long way. I cannot believe how concentrated this stuff is. For Dove Weed, I highly recommend Blindside.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    15 of 15 people found this review helpful

  • 1 of 5 Stars

    Not so good

    By Ronald on 02/25/2017

    Used on St Augustine in east tex. Applied per lable. Did NOT kill my dollar weed or clover, but sure wiped out my St. Aug.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Thank you for your comments! There are many factors when using herbicides that can affect the outcomes. St. Augustine is a particularly sensitive turfgrass, especially if you are applying herbicides when the turf may be under stress from heat or drought. Blindside can sometimes cause tip burn on St. Augustine at labeled rates, especially if you have Floratam, but the turf should recover from this. If you used a surfactant with Blindside, that would cause extra sensitivity, too. Blindside does typically do very well on dollarweed, although it is not unusual to need multiple applications for this plant (or for mature clover). We are happy to troubleshoot with you by email or by telephone at 866-581-7378. We appreciate your feedback and your business!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    11 of 14 people found this review helpful

  • 3 of 5 Stars

    blindside herbicide WDG

    By Sally on 04/02/2015

    Verified Purchase

    I wanted to purchase celsius WG but you no longer sell it so it was suggested to order this blindside. I put it down and have found it to be good on sedge grass but my oxalis in places are still growing and have purple flowers. In Florida it has been very hot so it seems like the grass is yellowing in places. On celsius I could spray in hot weather and it didn't do anything.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    10 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    First time with Blindside

    By Chris on 11/17/2017

    This is my first time using Blindside and I am very happy with the results so far. Kills Dove and Dollar weed fast; also kills sedge just as fast. I have a Palmetto St. Augustine lawn which I have spot sprayed ten days apart at the low use rate. Not quite as effective on spurge at that rate but definitely affects it. I will bump up to the higher use rate next application. No collateral damage to the St. Augustine so far.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    10 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Extremely satisfied!

    By Bill on 11/04/2017

    This stuff kicks ass! It is killing weeds more completely than anything I have used. I was planning to repeat at around three weeks, but it is possible it won't be necessary.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    10 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Blideside Works

    By Frank on 04/03/2015

    Verified Purchase

    Removes nut sedge and annular bluegrass in St Augustine lawns. One of the better herbicides I have used.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    9 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Blindside Herbicide WDG

    By Michael on 10/15/2018

    As a resident of the Tampa Bay Florida area, I have been consistently been advised that I could not kill crab grass without killing my St. Augustine lawn. You can't believe how delighted I was when advised that Blindside Herbicide would do the job. I strongly recommend Blindside to all St. Augustine grass owners. DoMyOwn representatives were very helpful.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Get your mix right, works great!

    By Frank on 02/23/2019

    We bought a house on several acres about 8 years ago. (Central Florida). Unfortunately, we neglected our yard (mostly Flortam) for several years before we noticed the lawn deterioration. Weeds everywhere, especially dollarweed. In some areas, the St. Augustine was only 20% of the "lawn" and the weeds were 80%! Started with Blindside as recommended in the worst of the dollarweed infestation area in late spring. Mostly killed the dollarweed, but it sort of came back midsummer. But by fall, it was virtually gone without a second application. The grass got a bit stressed, but it rebounded. Late in the fall, we Blindsided the "best" part of the lawn because there were still a lot of weeds. Got rid of the weeds and never noticed any negative effects on the Flortam. Moral: Apply lightly, avoid hot weather, and the better shape the lawn is in, the more weeds get killed with no damage to the "good" grass.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Fantastic!

    By Rhea on 08/09/2019

    Completely wiped the spotted spurge, crabgrass, kylinga and nutsedge and other weeds I don't know names for in 1 application. I spot sprayed so the only few places I have to redo is where I missed. Finally, something that works as advertised. Hallelujah ????

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Blindside did great

    By John on 03/19/2018

    Blindside did a great job. Finally I got the results I thought I would get from a herbicide and I felt satisfied afterward. All other herbicides previously never gave me 100 percent results. Maybe they did 50% but maybe they also killed 50% of my lawn. Years of mishaps and disappointments. Not this time. I am a happy camper with Blindside.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    8 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Dove weed control

    By Ronald on 06/15/2018

    So far this is the only product I've found that will control dove weed without destroying my bermuda lawn.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Only thing that will kill Dove Weed!

    By Howard on 09/14/2019

    Here in FL we have a weed that will take over your yard in one wet summer! This is the only thing I’ve found that will kill it. I spray it in the fall just before it seeds out and again in the spring as a pre-emergent. This site is way cheaper than having the lawn guy spray too!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great broad leaf control

    By Jane on 09/22/2017

    Blindside has been effective in killing the dove weed in my Bermuda grass lawn. Effect of the spray was visible in a bit over a week; nearly a month later, the weed is continuing to die. The included measuring cup was very helpful as just a little of this herbicide goes a long way. I believe it will also kill the nutsedge and green kylinga; eliminating the need for such weed-specific herbicides

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great Product

    By Robin on 07/05/2017

    This product worked great. Weeds are disappearing and zoysia is still alive. A little expensive but well worth it!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Great for St Aug...took out the nutgrass.

    By Daniel on 10/07/2019

    I sprayed this on St Aug that was riddled with Nutgrass....in 10 day it was torched and no damage to St Aug

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Awesome product

    By Jason on 07/23/2017

    Love this stuff. Great product, found the happier. Worth the high price and it seems it will last a few years.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Blindside is legit

    By Gonzalo on 04/22/2019

    A customer service rep recommended this product, sprayed my front and back yard , within 2 weeks I noticed that weeds where starting to die, after a month or so my yard looks great!

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Poa Annua in Tall Fescue (Oregon)

    By Ryan on 04/18/2019

    Put a hurtin' on the Poa Annua in my lawn and the Tall Fescue is unphased. Tall Fescue is the GCI Turf Tall Fescue blend. From most everything i've read this herbicide is used on Southern lawns, but i took a chance and it worked out. Applied 03/28/19 and the temperatures were in the 50's with high humidity.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Blindside was awesome

    By Dan on 09/07/2018

    Blindside was effective and had to apply only 1application, this erratically removed my Texas Sticker burrs. This also did no damage to my healthy grass. I’m very thankful, use as directed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 4 of 5 Stars

    Blindside review

    By Mike on 10/17/2018

    Very new to doing my own lawn care was very uncertain what to buy watched a video on this from LCN and went with it. Seems to be working on most weeds i have but i need to learn more before i can give honest fill review.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Works as expected

    By Christopher on 05/22/2020

    I live in central Florida and have a zoysia lawn. I've used Celsius and will continue to use it in the winter season. But my largest problem in the summer is Dove weed that appears once the weather warms up, and if I spot treat with Celsius it kills the weed and the grass. I was thrilled to see that Blindside can be spot sprayed, had a quick visual effect on the weed, and had minimal effect on the zoysia. I would recommend Blindside for use on post emergent weeds in zoysia for the warm, summer months.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    A great product

    By Herbert on 11/21/2019

    I have been plagued by crabgrass for years and it gets worse each year. My lawn maintenance company is not allowed to use a product like Blindside. In about two days after I applied my first batch, the crabgrass started getting brown but the blades of St. Augustine that had not been killed stayed green and will begin to spread again. I thought about buying a competing product but it was pre-mixed, 2 1/2 gallons. After calibrating my sprayer, I calculated that I can make about 100 gallons for about the same price as the other product. It is a "no brainer."

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    Property owner

    By James on 10/25/2019

    Does what is suppose to do, it took care of the dove weed in centipede lawn.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • 5 of 5 Stars

    My experience with DoMyOwn

    By Jeff on 08/17/2018

    Very informative site. Fast delivery. Will shop again most definitely.

    Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 60 reviews)